top of page


Our brand new first-floor galleries are officially OPEN! The wait is finally over - come see the NEW NMM. Information on the galleries, hours, and more can be found on the VISIT & LEARN and EXHIBITIONS & EVENTS pages!

Tuesdays through Saturdays, 10am to 4pm, stop in to see our seven new galleries, concerts, events, and more! 

The Jason & Betsy Groves Special Exhibitions Gallery is OPEN! Come explore our current special exhibition HIGH STRUNG: FIVE CENTURIES OF STRINGED KEYBOARD INSTRUMENTS.


The National Music Museum is a partnership between the National Music Museum, Inc., a non-profit, 501(c)(3) corporation (responsible for acquisitions, public exhibiting, and programming) and the University of South Dakota (providing staff and facilities for preservation, teaching, and research).

The mission of the National Music Museum is to explore, enjoy, and preserve the world of musical instruments.

Board of Trustees

Officers of the Board

Scott Ray Lawrence, Sioux Falls SD, Chair
Gerald Gaul, Grand Forks ND, Vice Chair; and Chair, Collections Committee
Claire Givens, Minneapolis, MN, Secretary; and Chair, Nominating Committee
Boyd Hopkins, Sioux Falls, SD, Treasurer
Juliet Everist, Sioux City, IA, Chair, Development Committee
Albert P. Hegyi, Dakota Dunes, SD, Executive Committee Member-at-Large
Cindy Lillibridge, Bonesteel SD, Past Chair
Jo Wohlenberg, Yankton, SD, Chair, Finance Committee

Members of the Board

Cash Anderson, Pierre, SD

Bruce Babbitt, Deleware, OH

Ford W. Bell, Wayzata, MN

Joseph Brown, Sioux Falls
Steve Dillon, Woodbridge, NJ
Eric Grossman, New York, NY

Betsy Groves, Rapid City, SD
Joan Holter, Vermillion, SD
Cynthia Mahood Levin, Palo Alto, CA
Thomas Mace, Niwot, CO

Kent Peterson, Sioux Falls, SD
Joe Schmaderer, New York, NY 
Susanne L. Skyrm, Vermillion, SD

James Smith, Wayzata, MN
Joseph A. Vinatieri, Whittier, CA
John Vonk, Los Angeles, CA
Thomas Wilder, Montreal, Quebec

Ex Officio Members of the Board

Sheila Gestring, President, University of South Dakota

Katherine Price, City of Vermillion
Bruce Kelley, Dean, College of Fine Arts, USD

Dwight Vaught, Director, National Music Museum

Trustees Emeritus

James (Jim) W. Abbott, Sioux Falls, SD
Alan G. Bates, West Grove, PA
John P. Mahoney, Tallahassee, FL
Joseph ("Tip") M. McFadden, Houston, TX

Honorary Trustees

Sharon Cutler, Sioux Falls, SD
Andrew Dipper, Minneapolis, MN

Spend a day with music - come check out our special exhibitions, take in a concert, or maybe put one on yourself. At the NMM, music comes to life!

See what's happening now


the NMM will be CLOSED until TUESDAY, 1/16

bottom of page